Exemplary Faculty Mentor Awardees Citations

Seventeen Iowa State faculty were honored in May 3, 2017, for their service as mentors.

The Exemplary Faculty Mentor Award recognizes faculty mentors who go above and beyond the formal expectations of Iowa State’s mentoring program. Winners are nominated by their “mentees” for the positive impact they have made in their lives and careers.

The honorees included:

  • Matthew Darr, Associate Professor, Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
  • Heather Flaherty, Senior Lecturer, Veterinary Pathology
  • Joey George, John D. DeVries Endowed Chair in Business and Professor, Supply Chain and Information Systems
  • Anna Johnson, Associate Professor, Animal Science
  • Richard LeSar, Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Surya Mallapragada, Distinguished Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering and Carol Vohs Johnson Chair in Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Sara Marcketti, Professor, Apparel, Events, and Hospitality Management
  • Greg Miller, Professor, Agriculture Education and Studies
  • Hridesh Rajan, Kingland Professor of Data Analytics and Professor, Computer Science
  • Eulanda Sanders, Donna R. Danielson Professorship in Textiles and Clothing and Professor, Apparel, Events, and Hospitality Management
  • Matthew Sivils, Professor, English
  • James Summers, Associate Professor, Management
  • Judy Vance, Joseph C. and Elizabeth A. Anderlik Professor in the College of Engineering and Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Mike Wannemuehler, Professor and Chair, Veterinary Microbiology and Preventative Medicine
  • Susan Wohlsdorf-Arendt, Professor, Apparel, Events, and Hospitality Management
  • Timothy Wolters, Associate Professor, History
  • Kimberly Zarecor, Associate Professor, Architecture

Iowa State’s formal mentoring program for new faculty began as a project of the Senior Vice President and Provost office in the late 1990’s; 2017 is the fourth year for the Exemplary Faculty Mentor Awards.

Previous awardees